Fundamentals of mm-Wave and Sub-Terahertz Frequency Generation, Synthesis, and Radiation for Multi-Antenna Array Transce 🗓 🗺

450 5th Ave SE Cedar Rapids, Iowa Map


Abstract: Operation in the mm-wave and terahertz (THz) bands has gained great interest due to abundance of unutilized spectrum and resurgence of new applications in wireless/cellular communications, most notably 5G. If combined with spectrally efficient (de-)modulation techniques, mm-wave/THz wireless communication has the potential to achieve multi-gigabit-per-second wireless data-rate. In addition, the operation at higher frequency gives rise to smaller size passive components (most notably antennae), making it possible to design and implement massive phase-array or MIMO systems on a single die or single wafer. As the communication schemes including spectrally-efficient (de-)modulation and carrier aggregation techniques are making progress at RF frequencies, far more challenging requirements will be imposed on the oscillator and frequency synthesis design. Increasing the carrier frequency towards the mm-wave/terahertz regime only makes these requirements more stringent.

This lecture will cover two generic inter-related themes: (1) a comprehensive overview of mm-wave multi-antenna transceiver architectures which includes phased-array, MIMO, and beam-forming MIMO architectures; (2) overview of frequency generation, synthesis, and high-efficiency radiation at mm-wave and sub-terahertz frequencies.



Payam Heydari received his B.S. and M.S. degrees (Honors) in Electrical Engineering from Sharif University of Technology in 1992 and 1995, respectively. He received his Ph.D. degree from the University of Southern California in 2001. He is currently a Full Professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of California, Irvine. His research covers the design of terahertz/millimeter-wave/RF and analog integrated circuits. He is the (co)-author of two books, one book chapter, and more than 140 journal and conference papers. Professor Heydari, an IEEE Fellow, has served as Distinguished Lecturer of both the IEEE Solid-State Circuits Society (SSCS) (2014-2016) and the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S) (2019-2022).