meeting seminar
6055 Rockside Woods Blvd. N Independence, Ohio United States 44147 Map


Date:ย  December 5, 2019.
Time: 05:30 PM to 07:30 PM (EDT)
Speaker: Simone Bastioli of MTT


6055 Rockside Woods Blvd. N
Independence, Ohio
United States 44147

Cost: Free
RSVP: Required.
Event Details & Registration: (URL)


The innovative concept of nonresonating modes and how this has been exploited to extend the state-of-art of microwave filter technology will be presented in this talk. After a brief introduction highlighting the importance of microwave filters from a system perspective, the main concepts will be gradually explained by using some waveguide as well as planar SIW examples. The general multimode environment of these structures is described step-by-step with several animations, thus significantly easing the understanding of these concepts for both students and non-filter experts. The presentation is then extended to the most various filter technologies, such as conventional coaxial structures, dielectric resonators based architectures, as well as more original mixed technologies. Several manufacturing examples of actual products developed at RS Microwave (Dr Bastioliโ€˜s affiliation) are going to be presented along this talk, thus also satisfying the more practical taste of an industry audience.


Simone Bastioli received his Ph.D. degree in Electronic Engineering from the University of Perugia, Italy. He is the acting Chief Engineer at RS Microwave Company Inc. located in Butler (NJ), United States, where he is responsible for the design of innovative microwave filters, multiplexers, and switched filters banks for military and space applications. He was awarded the IEEE Microwave Prize in 2012, as well as the 2018 IEEE Outstanding Young Engineer Award for his contributions to the microwave filter technology. In 2008 he was also awarded the Best Student Paper Award at the IEEE International Microwave Symposium, and the Young Engineer Prize at the European Microwave Conference. He is an MTT Distinguished Microwave Lecturer, Associate Editor of the IEEE Microwave Magazine, and Chair of the MTT-8 Technical Committee on Filters and Passive Components.